Oatmeal Cherry Cookies

7 Apr

I love cherries but they can be pretty pricey so I hardly get them. As I was browsing Trader Joes’s last weekend I came across some dried bing cherries and I immediately put them in my cart with no idea what I was going to do with them. I wanted something sweet so why not make some cookies (since I love them so). These cookies are not overly sweet and the cherries give it an extra bit of ‘chewiness’ that a raisin just doesn’t give. Let me know what you think!

 

Oatmeal Cherry Cookies

3 cups old-fashioned oats

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1 1/2 stick unsalted butter

1 egg

1/2 cup applesauce

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

1 package dried bing cherries (I used the ones from Trader Joes)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream the butter and sugars together for 3 minutes. Add the egg, applesauce and vanilla until combined. Add the remaining ingredients leaving the cherries for last.

Using my large (3 tsp) cookie scoop I baked these for 15 minutes on a lined cookie sheet. Let them cool for about 15 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

