Honey Sesame Chicken

26 Mar

I really like the boneless, skinless chicken breasts from Trader Joes. They aren’t plumped up with Lord knows what and actually taste like chicken. Some of you maybe thinking huh? How can a chicken not taste like chicken? Trust me it can. Try purchasing some major brand name (I would say the name but I digress) chicken nuggets and making your own with fresh chicken that actually lived on a farm, ate grass instead of antibiotics, could breath fresh air and so on… yeah its quite a difference.

This recipe I found on www.confectionsfromthecodykitchen.com. There are so many good food blogs out there!

What I liked about this recipe was that the sauce is homemade and so easy. It reminds me of my Hawaiian Pulled Chicken (I will share that recipe soon).

Honey Sesame Chicken (crock pot recipe)

3 – 4 boneless skinless chicken breast

salt and pepper

3/4 cup agave nectar (or honey)

1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce

1/2 cup diced onion

1/4 cup ketchup

2 tbsp canola oil

1 tsp minced garlic (about two cloves)

1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

4 tsp cornstarch dissolved in 6 tbsp water

sesame seeds

Combine agave, soy sauce, onion, ketchup, oil, garlic, and red pepper flakes into a bowl. Stir well. (I added 1/4 tsp of ginger also)

Salt and pepper both sides of the chicken. I cut the three chicken breasts into 12 pieces.

Place the seasoned chicken into the bottom of the pot and pour the sauce mixture on top. Cook for 3-4 hours on low or 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 hours on high. You do not want to over cook the chicken.

After 3 1/2 hours on low I removed the chicken to a separate plate and shredded the chicken with a fork.

In the pot add the cornstarch mixture to the pot and stir. Allow the sauce to thicken, 5 minutes or so and return the chicken to the pot.

I served this over brown rice…don’t forget to top with your sesame seeds! Yum:)

2 Responses to “Honey Sesame Chicken”

  1. Rose March 27, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

    OMG! I just had Honey Sesame Chicken and it was to die for! Thanks for sharing the recipe with us. I love this blog!

Leave a Reply

