Thin Chocolate Chip Cookies

17 Mar

I will take a good cookie over a piece of cake any day! I have my standard chocolate chip cookie recipe that often gets many requests but when I saw this recipe I had to try it. I made a couple of adjustments to the original recipe. For example just a little over a cup of flour the original recipe uses more than a stick of butter… sounded pretty glutenous to me.  I used one stick of butter and these cookies are still pretty rich. I added some heart healthy flax seeds in the mix too…these cookies are sweet, chewy, a little crunchy and a little salty all at the same time…Yum:)

Thin Chocolate Chip Cookies

adapted from http://phenome-nom.blogspot.com/2012/03/bon-appetit-chocolate-chip-cookies.html

  • 1 cup + 1/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 cup (packed) brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tbsp flax seed + 3 tbsp of water (or one egg)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 425 degrees

Cream butter and sugars together until light and fluffy. Add vanilla and flax seed and water.

Add salt, baking powder and flour – mix until smooth.

Fold in chocolate chips.

Bake for 10 minutes at 425 degrees. This recipe made 10 big cookies using my 3tbsp cookie scoop.

Let your cookies sit on the baking sheet for at least 5 minutes.Please do not try to move your cookies right away! They will break:(

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

